Success Stories

Ex-Onslow National Representatives

All Whites

Noah Billingsley 2018 – present
Clayton Lewis 2015 – present
Michael Utting 1991 – 2003

U23 All Whites

Noah Billingsley 2019 – present
Clayton Lewis 2019 – present

U20 All Whites

Tamupiwa (Tam) Dimairo – 2015
Zac Jones – 2018

U20 Football Ferns

Maggie Jenkins – 2017

U17 All Whites

Tamupiwa (Tam) Dimairo – 2013

U17 Football Ferns

Francesca Grange – 2015
Maggie Jenkins – 2017
Ella Wilson – 2015

U16 Football Ferns

Francesca Grange – 2015
Maggie Jenkins – 2016

Success Stories

Celebrating the success of Jemma Catherwood, former-OJFC player (February 2020)

Jemma is an emerging talent in Wellington Women’s Football who has caught the eye of national selectors.  Jemma starting her football career with Onslow playing nursery grade in 2009, and progressed through the GOSL and mixed grades until 2017, when she was Onslow female player of the Year.  Jemma played for teams including the Awaruas, Orissas and Karamus. Years of hard work on and off the football field have paid off for Jemma – and the last 12 months have been incredible for her:

  • Selected to attend the NZ U17 Talent Identification Camp in April and October 2019;
  • Selected for the Capital EliteTraining Programme in 2019 and 2020;
  • Selected in the NZ Squad for Oceania Football Confederation U16 Women’s Championship;
  • Attended the Gothia World Youth Cup in Sweden with the Wellington United Diamonds;
  • Named as the Capital Football Women’s Premier Player of the Year 2019;
  • Selected for both the Capital Football Women’s Football and Futsal teams;
  • Wellington Girls College Footballer of the Year 2019, Futsal Player of the Year 2019, and Junior Futsal Player of the year in 2018.

Jemma is currently in Year 12 at Wellington Girls College, where she plays for their 1st XI and Fustal Senior A team, and also played for the 2019 Wellington United Diamonds in the Women’s Premier League.

Looking ahead – Jemma is playing for the NZ U17 team in Tahiti at the Under-17 Oceania Football Confederation Qualifiers in April.  The NZ Under 17 Women’s World Cup is being held in November this year in India, and Jemma is working hard to push for selection if NZ qualify.  Jemma is also working towards a football scholarship in the USA after completing year 13 in 2021. 

Maggie Jenkins, ex Onslow Player off to U17 World Cup (2017)

Maggie Jenkins

Former Onslow Club player, Maggie Jenkins, is off to the U16 World Cup qualifiers in Samoa this August.  Maggie played for the Gurkhas (2013 – 2015) while at the Onslow club and also played GOSL.  To be selected Maggie attended a NTC camp in the April school holidays, played several games with the U16 coach, Leon Birnie, watching and lastly spent a week in Auckland with other contenders for the U16 team.  The team sets off for Samoa on the 2nd August and will play Tonga, Samoa, New Caledonia and Tahiti during the 3 week tournament.  The winners of the Oceania qualifiers will get to attend the U17 World cup in Uruguay in 2018.  This is Maggie’s second qualifiying tournament.  In 2016 as a 14 year she played at the Oceania tournament in Rarotonga and also went to the U17 World Cup in Jordan. Photo Credit Michael Welsh.

Previous Onslow Capital Football Representatives

2018 Capital Football Futsal Players

Congratulations to the following Onslow players, past and present, selected for the 2018 Capital Futsal squads, Sarah Alder and Sam Kendrick, both ex OJFC players will be coaching.

Lucy Armitage, Levi Bank, Charlie Baylis, Connor Bayliss-Tremain, Alex Braakhuis, Olivia Browne, Jemma Catherwood, Savio Concessio, Chelsea Empson, Olivia Empson, Theo Ettema, Fran Grange, Olive Lynch-Gerrard, Ruben Marull, Pepi Olliver-Bell, Amanda Parlane, Nicola Ross, Ella Vincent-Hyde, Samantha Whyte, James Wilkinson

2017  Capital Football NTC Players

Congratulations to the following Onslow players selected for the 2017 National Talent Centre programme

2003 Boys
Liam Coleman
James Martin

2017 Capital Football FTC Players

Congratulations to the following Onslow players selected for the 2017 Federation Talent Centre programme

2003 Boys
Aaron Beasley, Levi Bank, Aidan Rodrigues, Barker Carroll, James Martin, Liam Coleman, Luke Piper, Max Falconer, Ruben Marull

2003 Capital Girls
Samantha Whyte, Eliza O’Donnell, Jemma Catherwood, Caitlin Revell, Sophie Coyle, Amanda Parlane, Olivia Browne, Emma Law

2004 Western Boys
Max Juran, Hiroshi Craigie, Alex Braakhuis, Theo Ettema, Savio Concessio, Sam Fernyhough, Nick Martin.

2004 Capital Girls
Nicola Ross, Olivia Empson, Scarlett Fraser, Hannah Evett, Pepi Olliver-Bell

2005 Western Boys
Timothy Gempesaw, Lachlan Macgregor, Kashyapa Navaratne de Alwis, Jamie Wildash-Chan, James Wilkinson

2005 Capital Girls
Lucy Armitage, Lola Byrne, Annabel Louise Evans, Sarah Griffiths, Lucy Jurke, Olive Lynch-Gerrard, Maia Williams

If anyone has any further success stories regarding past and present players please contact